Little ducker

Recently, as I said in my last post, I’ve finally mustered up the courage to jump Millie.

She LOVES jumping and in the pictures I’d take of our first session she looked so happy and eager to please.

But she’s a mare.

Opinionated and intelligent she decided by the second session that jumping properly like a good girl was so boring.

My first session I set up one jump, just to see how she jumps and take my aids. She was a super star.

So next time I set up two so we would jump one and circle around to the other. Due to the weather and some loading issues with Norman, my mums horse, the three days prior to this she hadn’t been worked.

She was wired. And another girl was riding her horse in the school too. So I was nervous. I always think people are judging us.

Millie ducked out at almost every time in canter. So I’d send her round to blow off some steam and try again. She’d duck out, I’d repeat and so on.

So thinking the girl who was in the school with me was getting annoyed with us dashing around at speed I was expecting to lose this battle.

But she sent her horse over the jump to see if Millie would follow and when she ducked out she stood her horse to the right where she ducked out. I thought Millie would see her as a barrier and clear it fine but this is Millie I’m talking about her.

Millie saw a small gap between the jump and the other horses head less than a foot wide and ducked and shoot through. And the other horse stood it’s ground as good as gold for me to try again. Not a single spook. She just moved her head. So the next time the girl explained because Millie ducks out to the right I should aim her towards the left wing. So I did, and it worked – with a little hesitation. So we tried again without the barrier and she jumped fine.

So I want to thank her and her horse, and if she reads this she’ll know who she is

Thanks again chick

Catch ya laters

Eloiseđź’•

Leave a Reply

